RWIEF Home About RWIEF Trustees Awards Activities Donations Legacy Giving History RWIEF Tools Links



Balfour Award

Frank BalfourThe Frank C. Balfour Professional of the Year Award, named after the Association's founder, honors professionals who have demonstrated exemplary support to the Association.

Nominated by IRWA's local chapters, candidates are submitted to the INEC for consideration and a maximum of six finalists are selected.




The INEC appoints the winner based on:

• Outstanding contributions made through leadership positions in the chapter, regional and international levels
• Fulfillment of educational courses and activities Participation in
• Association regional and international activities
• Achievement of IRWA professional designations



An annual $1,000  scholarship  award  and plaque  selected  by the IRWA's Nomination and Elections Committee for the Right of Way Professional of the Year.  The scholarship offering is directed only to the University of Santa Clara in the name  of the  award  winner  and in honor  of Frank C. Balfour.   This  check  is to be issued each year by the Foundation after the IRWA Annual Education Seminar.



Chapter of the Year

The Chapter of the Year Award funds are held in trust by the RWIEF. The award is presented each year by the International 
Right of Way Association. The International Nominations and Elections Committee oversees the selection of the winners.


• Membership growth
• Professional development
• Education courses
• Chapter meetings
• Chapter goals
• New ideas, successes, and recommendations
• Award nominations submitted



To ensure a fair assessment of all chapters, the Chapter of the Year Award consists of two categories:

• Chapter with less than 100 members
• Chapters with 100 or more members

The Winner of this award will receive a plaque and check for $500.00


LOUISE L. & Y. T. LUM Award

This prestigious honor, selected by Trustees of the Right of Way International Education Foundation for significant contributions to education within the right of way profession.

This award was established in 1976 by Louise and Y. T. Lum to recognize an individual that has made significant contributions to the right of way profession. The honoree of this award is decided upon by the trustees of the Right of Way International Education Foundation and the award is given on a bi-annual basis. Along with a plaque, the honoree receives a check in the amount of $500. The Lum family is then notified of each honoree.


Gene L. Land Award

This award, named after International Past President Gene L. Land, is presented to local IRWA chapters with the "Highest Percentage Gain" and "Highest Numerical Gain" in membership.

An  annual  $200  cash  award  and  plaque  to  two  Chapters  ($400 Total)  selected  by  the  IRWA's  Nominations  &  Elections Committee  (INEC).    One award is for the Chapter exhibiting the greatest numerical increase in membership  and the other for the greatest percentage gain in membership. Once an honoree has been determined, the INEC will notify the President of the Foundation not later than June 1st of  each  year. Checks  will  be  issued  by  the  Foundation  payable  to  the  individual chapters.  The President of the Foundation shall deliver the checks to the designated individual  (usually  the INEC Chairman)  that will make the award presentation  at the Award Luncheon at the IRWA's Annual Education Seminar.



This prestigious honor, selected by INEC for significant contributions to education within the right of way profession.

In 1993, thanks to a generous donation from the now-defunct State Association of Real Property Agents (SARPA), IRWA instituted the SARPA Scholarship fund, which is still awarded to those seeking higher education related to right of way work. The first scholarship recipient was Darlene Kinney, a CalTrans employee studying for a Master’s in Public Administration, when the agency was forced to reduce their tuition reimbursement policy. This was a common issue among dedicated professionals, and the SARPA scholarship has provided welcome financial relief to many over the years.

Regional Professional of The Year Scholarship

The RWIEF wishes to encourage and provide incentives for Region Professionals to further their education and is proud to announce the RWIEF Regional Professional of the Year Scholarship.  This scholarship of $500 per year will be awarded to each of the current 10 region’s Professional of the Year.  The Professional of the Year is selected by each region, not by RWIEF.  Awards will be presented annually at the IRWA Education Conference during the Board of Director’s meeting.  Scholarship funds can be used for IRWA courses or for registration fees to IRWA events like the education conference.  For complete details, see this link:  Structure of the RWIEF Regional Professional of the Year Scholarship Program.